Learning Curve: Part the first

20160416_100723In a switch around from our previous schedule Wednesday’s will cease being dominated by card games and instead will be focused upon my experiences with new systems I intend to play.  Now some of these games will not be new to you and in fact one I have played a previous version of but the important thing is that by publishing my mistakes we can all learn a little something.  Even if that’s that I’m not very good…

Since this is the first edition I’m going to write mainly about choosing forces and importantly sticking them together.  So I’m a planner, normally I like to have an idea of where to start and where I’m going with my armies.  Take my Infinity force for example in the end I decided to go with Qapu Khalqi.  Part of the reasoning was that I like mercenary type forces where each figure is an individual within the force for smaller games so that fits but the other part of the reason is that I like the rules they utilise and the fact that the main body of the force is light infantry which means more orders…

20160418_202411Now I’m no expert and it’s probably not as solid a list as it could be but it has some tricks, some big fellas and it didn’t cost too much either so it gives me the balance I’m looking for.  On the flip side of that I purchased my Burrows and Badgers warband pretty much based entirely on the rule of cool.  That hasn’t stopped me from trying to plan out the craftiest way to kit out my wee furry warriors though…

I think that my advice here would be very much look at what you’re about to buy from all the sides that are important to you.  Do some research before you buy your next army or even unit.  Gaming is an expensive hobby and nobody wants to spend £8 on a figure, paint it up and then put it in the big box never to bother getting it out again.  Equally buying items just for their rules can lead to you owning an ugly lump of lead that painting is a grind.

Once you’ve chosen a)which force and b)which units or models you’ll need to glue them up.  Now for some people this in itself is a challenge and may even put people off from collecting certain types of model.  I would say that your fears around your skill level are probably unfounded and that with practice and a little reading you’d soon get the hang of it.  Take my attempts at gluing up the Nomads for my infinity army;

Yes they are a little gappy where the fiddly little suckers didn’t want to go together properly but with a little persuasion and a healthy dollop of green stuff they’ll look fine with a coat of paint on.  I also had to learn how to use scenic bases since I’ve never glued metal models onto resin bases before which was a bit daunting.  But thanks to Datasphere I found that in actual fact it’s a piece of cake as long as you’re patient.

20160418_202042

The models I got for Freebooter’s Fate were just as fiddly but seemed to go together without so many gaps and the Oathsworn models were quite the treat after all that swearing, pulling guns off my de-sensitized finger tips and general moaning about ‘stupid fiddly little men’ because they’re one part sculpts!  Hooray!

I’ll be back next week with ‘how I learnt to paint fur’ and then hopefully some actual games!  Until then happy gaming – Mark

 

Leave a Reply

